Interpreting Cultural Sources Stage 1 Research – KINNEAR -10.01.15

After weeks of trying to find artifacts from the Firvale workhouse in which James’s wife Helena and daughter Elizabeth found themselves in after his death, I have explored every avenue in order to find artifacts from Firvale. There are few records due them being destroyed in the WWII bombings of Sheffield and, also due to the nature of the workhouse being one which holds bad memories and stigma only a lone pair of inmates boots remain. I have been corresponding via email with Lyn Howsam who has written a book about the Firvale workhouse and who works as a volunteer in the the hospital Firvale workhouse became. I have arranged a meeting with her on the 20th January and she is allowing me to see the boots first hand. I am not sure how I shall feel when I’m faced to face with them as the discovery of my relatives lives so far has been filled with emotion. I am looking forward to speaking with Lyn as she is extremely knowledgeable about the workhouse. She sent me two pictures to use as part of my studies which are below. The first image shows a collection of inmates around 1910, which is around the time my relatives were inmates. The other image is of staff who worked at Firvale, no date supplied.

inmates of firvale workhouse around 1910 image supplied by lyn Howsam and Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

inmates of firvale workhouse around 1910
image supplied by Lyn Howsam at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

inmates

inmates image supplied by Lyn Howsam at heffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

master & matron + porters. cook and nursesat firvale workhouseimage supplied by lyn Howsam and Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

master & matron + porters. cook and nurses at firvale workhouseimage supplied by lyn Howsam atSheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Leave a Reply

