Part 3, Workshop 4 Woven structures

The experience of photographing knitted/crochet nets yesterday left me curious about shadows. I still was pondering why some shadows showed clearly what was casting the shadow and others not. I decided to gather as many net like structures as I could to see how they cast their shadows. I had some vegetable nets, the kind you get from stores and I also found I had a range of metal mesh samples, all from various sources. Some shadows were difficult to photograph as they were more subtle. I found the best, clearer shadows were created by having the spotlight further away, at least 4 foot and the object nearer the white wall. Saying that, I do like the subtle shadows,even though the focus looks blurred, it isn’t and that is in fact the shadow.

IMG_5442

IMG_5443

IMG_5444

IMG_5425

IMG_5424

 

Hessian sacking

Hessian sacking

IMG_5439

IMG_5440

IMG_5441

IMG_5445

IMG_5446

IMG_5422

IMG_5427

IMG_5428

IMG_5429

IMG_5431

IMG_5432

IMG_5433

IMG_5434

IMG_5435

IMG_5436IMG_5437

 

IMG_5438

By far the images that appeal and excite me are the ones looking into the wire tube and the one looking under the hessian. This has left me thinking I would like to create something that I had to look into, that had added interest because of the angle of looking into it as well as of the shadows it cast. My initial thought was of burning fabric to create holes for the light to shine through, I was thinking perhaps working a mesh/net similar to the metal ones, but enlarging the whole formation. I shall play with the fabrics I have and look at ways of manipulating them to re create the mesh.

Leave a Reply

