Part 3, Workshop 4 Woven structures

Earlier in working on this workshop I had explored simple nets, using vegetable nets and hessian but I wanted to explore finer structures such as lace. I also wanted to try using a candle which would I imagined produce a subtle shadow.

I glued together 2 empty CD cases to form a cube. I lit a candle and placed that in the middle and used this structure to drape materials over. I recorded the shadows on the wall as well as the effect of the light coming towards me through the fabric.

crochet fabric.

crochet fabric.

crochet fabric.

crochet fabric.

crochet fabric.

crochet fabric.

bubble wrap

bubble wrap

bubble wrap

bubble wrap

bubble wrap

bubble wrap

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

lace fabric

I returned to using text. I have a real itch to scratch with text? It seems to be the hardest thing for me to get a comfortable result from. Why I am obsessed with this? I’m not sure. I do keep seeing a large piece of fabric with some story or poem upon it with light shining through. I am unsure why I am pursuing this as it isn’t related to part 1 of Exploring ideas, where I looked at my ancestors. I do think it would be a beautiful piece of work that I would like to produce at some stage.

text written onto an empty cd case with glue from a glue gun

text written onto an empty cd case with glue from a glue gun

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

text written with a marker pen onto an empty cd case

I am finding it difficult to find a way that suitably applies text to fabric or other item in order to get a good shadow. No doubt this will be a feature for me until I do find the one thing that I can work with.

text written onto greaseproof paper using pva glue

text written onto greaseproof paper using pva glue

Above the light was shone from behind as the paper did not cast a shadow behind it. I then coloured the paper, rubbing ink onto the paper and allowed the light to shine forward again.

IMG_5533

It did emphasise the lettering but how would I use this? Maybe I don’t need to think that far in front?

Leave a Reply

