Part 4 Sketchbook work

I decided due to comments my tutor made about not taking samples further in part 3, to try and free myself up a little and work on some random sampling to try and shift my head into exploring textiles and working from a materials lead angle. I feel I failed miserably in my first re engagement to exploring Ideas. I was incredibly frustrated in my inability to just relax and surrender to the process. I knew I needed to work on something that I could be more playful and random. even though my materials are from the ancestors research from Part 1, I wasn’t looking to produce anything just to rip, stitch, burn and  be open to just going with what was to hand. I had the radio on loud and prepared to lose myself. It took time before I became instinctive and the radio helped to distract part of my brain that may have wanted to interfere with the process. I had large graphite pencils, acrylic paints, lots of photo copies, sewing machine, soldering iron and matches to hand. I cleared the decks and played.

IMG_5650

One of my loosening up exercises was to take chunky, graphite pencils and scrawled text from a collage I had made (below). I then over painted with acrylic paint. The graphite was still visible as it repelled the paint.

collage on paper

collage on paper

Below I again collaged though this time I worked in a more conscious way. I ripped at the census forms, photographs of my ancestors and their marriage certificate, envisioning how they would feel about their lives being changed so drastically. I found I got quite emotional doing this. Even to the point of brimming with tears. I covered the whole page (A2) in pva, which gave the finished work a lossy appearance. I drew it, using large marker pens, simplifying the colour blocks. I then cut that into pieces and pasted them allowing my instincts to choose where things should lay.

IMG_5642

IMG_5643

I cut the original collage into strips and pasted them, again using my intuition to dictate the composition.

IMG_5645

 

IMG_5645

I threw nothing away as even the smallest piece had some shape, colour combination or texture that I could refer to. The photographs do not tell the whole story.

IMG_5646

I enlarged areas via Photoshop and printed them out, again ripping and layering and adding lines picking out text and also just picking out shapes of letters to soften the composition.

IMG_5647

IMG_5648

IMG_5649

I then stitched into some photocopies, ripping and layering. I then took a flame to it all. I do like the text appearing beneath. I chose the green colour as it is the same as the original paintwork on the workhouse doors and windows.

IMG_5656

IMG_5657

IMG_5658

IMG_5655

IMG_5654

I found that in doing this I became more in touch with how I should be working with exploring ideas. My mind was becoming more open and curious. I hope I am learning to trust the process more. One question I do have is: if I allow the process to take over, do I lose the lateral thinking that would guide me towards a fine art approach rather than a crafter?

Leave a Reply

